Our Board is appointed by Unitywater’s three shareholders: the Noosa, Sunshine Coast and Moreton Bay Regional Councils.

The independent skills-based Board guides our Executive Leadership Team to fulfil its vision to create a sustainable, industry-leading, community and customer oriented water and allied services business.

The combination of Board members' qualifications, skills and experience ensures a strong commercial focus, with emphasis on identifying efficiencies across the organisation and passing on costs savings to you.

Jim Soorley, Chairman

BA (Psych), MA (Org Psych)

Jim was Lord Mayor of Brisbane from 1991 to 2003, and is the inaugural Chairman of Unitywater. Involved in many activities in South-east Queensland, he is also the Chair of CS Energy and the LGAQ and AEGIS enterprise, Propel, which works in the public sector to cut costs and improve customer service delivery.

Barry Casson


Barry was initially in Chartered Accounting before moving into corporate finance roles working in accounting firms, corporate finance and executive management positions for more than 40 years. His roles have predominantly been as a consultant or executive in the mining sector, although his background also includes property development and agribusiness. Barry currently serves as non-executive Chairman of Metallica Minerals Limited (ASX listed) and as a non-executive Director on the boards of Archipelago Metals Limited and CassTech Limited. Barry is also Company Secretary of CassTech Limited and Archipelago Metals Limited.

Mike Williamson


Mike brings to Unitywater more than 30 years’ experience in the fields of water and sewage management, waste minimisation, resource recovery, engineering and project management. He has held positions as Managing Director of CH2M Australia and as Managing Partner of global consulting firm Environmental Resources Management (ERM). From 2001 until 2015 he was Chairman of the Oil Stewardship Advisory Council and he has held Board positions with Keep Australia Beautiful and Special Olympics NSW. Mike is a qualified marine and mechanical engineer and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Sharon Doyle

LLB (Hons), BIT (Dist), GradDip Business Admin, GAICD

Sharon is the Managing Director of InterFinancial, a corporate finance advisory and mergers and acquisitions firm. Sharon is also a non-executive Director of Starts at 60, an online media business partially owned by Seven West Media. Sharon has held leadership roles in Mincom Limited and Allens: Linklaters.

Fiona Waterhouse

Fiona is CEO of bioenergy developer Utilitas, one of the pioneers of the emerging industrial bio-products market in Australia. A production engineer by trade, Fiona has owned and advised industrial and technology-related business for the past 20 years.

The Business Sustainability Roadmap that she developed as part of her role in the Queensland Environment Department between 2000 and 2003 was recognised as a sustainable development milestone for Queensland.